J Dudley Johnston Medal

An award for major achievement in the field of photographic criticism or the history of photography. To be awarded for sustained excellence over a period of time, or for a single outstanding publication. Named after The Society’s former President and Honorary Curator 1924-1955.

1998          Dr Larry Schaaf
1999          Vicki Goldberg
2000          Colin Westerbeck
2001          Bill Jay
2002          Dr Mike Weaver
2003          Dr Sara Stevenson
2004          Colin Harding (Photohistory) and Val Williams (Curatorship)
2005          Ian Jeffrey (Photohistory) and Professor David Mellor (Curatorship)
2006          Gerhard Steidl (Photohistory) and Martin Harrison (Curatorship)
2007          Roger Taylor (Photohistory)
2008          Gail Buckland
2009          Matthew Butson
2010          A D Coleman
2011          Sean O'Hagan
2012          Dr Anthony Bannon
2013          Martin Barnes
2014  Dr David Campany