The Museum, opened in 1991 on 30 acres of the original 1907 banked racing circuit, chronicles the history of Brooklands motor-racing during its between-wars heyday. It also tells the story of 80 years of aircraft production at Weybridge, through its collection of some 30 iconic aircraft ranging from the Roe 1 biplane of 1908 to one of the last BAC Concordes.
Many of the original Brooklands buildings survive, including the workshops, petrol station and Edwardian clubhouse pictured here.
Our visit will commence with a 20-minute introduction by a member of the Museum staff, following which participants will be free to take pictures throughout the site. The museum will be open to the public, so we have been asked to ensure that tripods are used with care and discretion. Those who wish can meet for lunch at the on-site cafeteria.
The Archaeology and Heritage Group does not charge for this event. Entrance cost to the museum is £11 (£10 Concessions) – pay on the day.
All photographs © R. K. Evans